The Coalition for the Safety of Woman and Children

The Auckland Women’s Centre coordinates the Coalition for the Safety of Women and Children, made up of thirteen preventing violence groups:

  • Auckland Sexual Abuse HELP
  • Auckland Women’s Centre
  • Eastern Women’s Refuge
  • Homeworks Trust
  • Inner City Women’s Group
  • Mt Albert Psychological Services Ltd
  • North Shore Women’s Centre
  • Rape Prevention Education – Whakatu Mauri
  • SHINE Safer Homes in NZ Everyday
  • Te Rito Rodney
  • The Backbone Collective
  • Women's Centre Rodney
  • Women’s Health Action Trust

The Coalition has undertaken a number of innovative activities including a competition for young people to make a video for you-tube on violence against young women and a community development programme involving small businesses making a commitment to speaking out against domestic violence. We make frequent representations to Government on matters concerning preventing and responding to sexual and domestic violence.